Autor |
Nachricht |
|
Titel: Transparent eterm at start of kde
Verfasst am: 01.09.2006, 18:37 Uhr
|
|
Anmeldung: 21. Jan 2005
Beiträge: 454
Wohnort: NYC/NJ Area
|
|
I usually have two eterm windows that start with kde but I have to use the drop down run option to add transparency the way I like.
Like so;
Eterm -O -x -f cyan --scrollbar=false --buttonbar=false
Then alt + left mouse allows me to drag to where I'd like.The problem now is when I do the command I cannot click to work in the eterm window or drag it.It wont grab or bring up....dont know how to explain this.It highlights as if copying text but even the prompt doesnt go solid so I can work in it.It used to work.
Anyway,what I'd like to do is have kde start the 2 eterm's with the command for transparancy,cyan fonts,no buttonbar or scrollbar...where would I put the command and how so to get this to work?
Also how can I make the eterm start +0 +624 at 80X24..............that would be lower left corner at the size I like?
The 2nd eterm which I really do not need is right next to it above the kde toolbar.
Thank you. |
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Titel: RE: Transparent eterm at start of kde
Verfasst am: 05.09.2006, 20:47 Uhr
|
|
Anmeldung: 21. Jan 2005
Beiträge: 454
Wohnort: NYC/NJ Area
|
|
Nobody?
Looks like I will have to use fluxbox again and see if it works there.If not,it is a new eterm issue.
Anyone know the aterm syntax for complete transparancy,no buttonbar,no border,and no scrollbar?
Also,where do I place my code for it to start up with kde,usually eterm starts with kde but not with the;
Eterm -O -x -f cyan --scrollbar=false --buttonbar=false
code like I'd like.
Thanks again in advance.
edit;
Maybe this can be moved to software or the appropriate forum,thanks. |
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Titel: RE: Transparent eterm at start of kde
Verfasst am: 06.09.2006, 01:07 Uhr
|
|
Anmeldung: 26. Jun 2005
Beiträge: 389
|
|
Not a kde user, so cannot really help you but I suspect that fix size and fix position is a peculiarity of fluxbox. For your eterm perhaps you can create a launcher with the commands? Alt-leftbutton to move - probably you have to look into the window settings in the control panel. I just tried it in xfce4 with your eterm command as well - man, the no nothing look is weird, like moving a portal of nothing.
I changed from using eterm to xfce4-terminal because it has a preferences option to set my preferences permanently. Seems to be just as light as eterm. This will then allow you to launch the terminal automatically with the settings you want.
Hopefully with this some other guy will jump in and really help you.  |
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Titel: RE: Transparent eterm at start of kde
Verfasst am: 06.09.2006, 20:54 Uhr
|
|
Anmeldung: 21. Jan 2005
Beiträge: 454
Wohnort: NYC/NJ Area
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Titel: RE: Transparent eterm at start of kde
Verfasst am: 08.09.2006, 03:02 Uhr
|
|
Anmeldung: 01. Feb 2006
Beiträge: 37
Wohnort: Summerville, SC
|
|
I save transparent aterm terminals with their postions by just saving the session from the KDE menu. Give it a try! |
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Titel:
Verfasst am: 08.10.2006, 20:04 Uhr
|
|
Anmeldung: 12. Okt 2006
Beiträge: 0
|
|
you don't have to use all those command line options to start eterm. just put your settings in ~/.Xdefaults For instance, for aterm I use:
Code:
Aterm*background: #000000
Aterm*foreground: #ffffff
Aterm*transparent: true
Aterm*shading: 80
Aterm*cursorColor: #d8d8d8
Aterm*scrollbars: false
Aterm*saveLines: 2000
Aterm*tinting: gray
Aterm*scrollBar: false
!Aterm*scrollBar_right: true
Aterm*transpscrollbar: true
Aterm*borderwidth: 0
Aterm*font: -lfp-gamow-medium-r-normal-*-*-90-*-*-c-*-iso8859-5
Aterm*geometry: 80x25
Aterm*fading: 70
!aterm colors
Aterm*color0: #000000
Aterm*color1: #D73C3C
Aterm*color2: #1BC91B
Aterm*color3: #CCCC66
Aterm*color4: #5298D2
Aterm*color5: #DFB68F
Aterm*color6: #20EDED
Aterm*color7: #E9E9E9
Aterm*color8: #686868
Aterm*color9: #FF5454
Aterm*color10: #97fc82
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Titel:
Verfasst am: 08.10.2006, 21:14 Uhr
|
|
Anmeldung: 29. Aug 2006
Beiträge: 15
|
|
mmmm....
interesting....found your post yesterday w/a search on Eterm....
tried your code for borderless, transparent Eterm...it worked....
now 2day, i find myself w/your problem...the window WONT move w/holding alt+left mouse.....it just wants to stay where it originates.....
i've not done any updates or installs since yesterday...only did a reboot.......
i have worked in Eterm without your code attribues though....
interesting
-peon |
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Titel:
Verfasst am: 09.10.2006, 21:51 Uhr
|
|
Anmeldung: 29. Aug 2006
Beiträge: 15
|
|
hey there,got a fix for you.....and a tale on how i got there..
ok did some research on Eterm...the transparency and no menubar features are suppose to be for when you have a fixed geometry on where u want the terminal as its not meant to be moved...u would add code --geometry AxB+x+y where AxB is the size diminsion and +x+y is the co-ordinate placement. u then would hit ctrl+button 1 (left click mouse) to change focus to the terminal t be able to use it.... then found on a ubuntu forum the following code which makes a terminal that can be MOVED with alt+button2(right click mouse):
Eterm --trans -x --shade=0 --scrollbar=0 --buttonbar=0 --geometry=65x25+30+30 OLEY! it now can be moved in KDE..
as far as a completly transparent aterm...i havent been able to remove the menubar(havent had a chance to try anything, i do have to work sometimes), but the following code will make it transparent and remove any scrollbar: aterm -rv -tr -trsb -sh 70 -cursorColor white -cursorColor2 black -geometry 60x25+10+20
have fun
-Peon |
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Titel:
Verfasst am: 13.10.2006, 19:04 Uhr
|
|
Anmeldung: 21. Jan 2005
Beiträge: 454
Wohnort: NYC/NJ Area
|
|
|
|
 |
|